Which uni is better, Interpreting Chinese/English?
Thread poster: VivianZhou
VivianZhou
VivianZhou
English to Chinese
Aug 18, 2008

Hello everyone! I am a Chinese student who wants to study Interpreting. Now i have two choices, either studying Translation and Interpretation in the University of Manchester or Interpreting, Translation and Diplomacy in the Uni of Westminster. I heard the translation program in manc is pretty good , but i do want to study interpreting. Would you please give me any suggestion of these two choices? Thanks a lot!!

lexical
lexical  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:07
Portuguese to English
Question of reputation Aug 18, 2008

Although I don't know anything about the two different courses, Manchester University has a very good reputation, while Westminster University (which was previously only a polytechnic) is very near the bottom of the league table of British universities. I imagine that your future employers will be more impressed by a Manchester University degree than one from Westminster.

Alana Quintyne
Alana Quintyne  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:07
French to English
+ ...
Westminster Aug 18, 2008

I would go with Westminster. It has an extremely good reputation where interpreting is concerned. I know that their PG Diploma/MA in Conference Interpreting is very highly regarded. If you haven't already, check this site
http://interpreters.freeforums.org/portal.php

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:07
Flemish to English
+ ...
2 foreign languages Aug 19, 2008

For interpreting, you need two foreign languages>Chinese.
For non Chinese, Westminster is part of the EMCI-consortium.

[Edited at 2008-08-19 07:10]

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
Excuse me Aug 19, 2008

Neither Manchester (MATIS programme) nor Salford require 2 foreign languages>Chinese.