In a little bit over my head... first interpreting, need tips
Thread poster: Ana_Bells
Ana_Bells
Ana_Bells
English to Japanese
Nov 4, 2008

Hi! I've been at my bilingual job for 5 months now.
This is my first bilingual job, though I've studied Japanese for quite awhile.

The job was going well until recently.
I've been asked to interpret in high level meetings.

I feel a little overwhelmed as this is my first time interpreting... not to mention that I've only been at the company for 5 months. In that 5 months I've had to pick up not only English engineering terms, but Japanese as well... plus
... See more

I feel a little overwhelmed as this is my first time interpreting... not to mention that I've only been at the company for 5 months. In that 5 months I've had to pick up not only English engineering terms, but Japanese as well... plus 4 divisions of product knowledge... It's quite a bit. My company is a manufacturer, and the meetings I have been interpreting for are extremely technical, or involving sales figures... every meeting has at least 15 high level management from here or our Japan office.

I'm not having the best of times to say the least and need some advice.

Here are my questions / concerns:

-----How do you break in to take time to interpret for someone if they just keep rambling on and on and don't give you time to do so? Any good phrases to use that aren't rude? (in English or Japanese?)