Thread poster: Mark Belcher (X)
Mark Belcher (X)
Mark Belcher (X)
Local time: 12:59
German to English
+ ...
Sep 25, 2009

Dear all,

I'm thinking of trying to train as an interpreter next year. I studied Bulgarian for my masters, as well as currently working regularly as a translator from German and Russian. Are there any interpreting schools that offer Bulgarian? It seems the EU institutions are desperate for people, and I thought it might give me more of an advantage if I had Bulgarian. Also, does one still need to have a certain amount of experience before applying to the EU institutions?

... See more
Dear all,

I'm thinking of trying to train as an interpreter next year. I studied Bulgarian for my masters, as well as currently working regularly as a translator from German and Russian. Are there any interpreting schools that offer Bulgarian? It seems the EU institutions are desperate for people, and I thought it might give me more of an advantage if I had Bulgarian. Also, does one still need to have a certain amount of experience before applying to the EU institutions?

Thanks for your help!

Mark
Collapse

Emma Hradecka (X)
Emma Hradecka (X)  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 12:59
English to Czech
+ ...
Experience Sep 26, 2009

Hello,
the experience they require for you to become an EU interpreter is as follows:

* Hold a recognised university degree in conference interpreting or
* Hold a recognised university degree in any subject and a postgraduate qualification in conference interpreting or
* Hold a recognised university degree in any subject and have documented experience in consecutive and simultaneous conference interpreting.

Ad 3: as far as I know the
... See more
Hello,
the experience they require for you to become an EU interpreter is as follows:

* Hold a recognised university degree in conference interpreting or
* Hold a recognised university degree in any subject and a postgraduate qualification in conference interpreting or