finding a good masters in interpreting
Thread poster: maedbh
Sep 29, 2009

hello, I am currently a 4th yr student in BA Applied Languages in Ireland. I would like to do a masters in Interpreting. As there is none available in Ireland I would like to possible study in France or Belguim (into English), however not Paris as it is just too expensive. Could someone recommend a school that is recognised by the EU and UN? My other language is Spanish.
Thanks
Maedbh

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:49
Flemish to English
+ ...
Good masters. Sep 29, 2009

You'll need a thorough knowledge of two foreign languages, Spanish>English, xxx>English
In Belgium, there are no schools with English A.
In France, there is ESIT (625euros) and ISIT which offer English A
In Switzerland, you have ETI-Geneva (2500 ??? euros per annum).
Westminster is expensive, but it is 1 year. All the others 2 years.

for a list of schools: AIIC.net and Ciuti.org

[Edited at 2009-09-29 10:00 GMT]

Geraldine Oudin
Geraldine Oudin  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Japanese to French
+ ...
However Sep 29, 2009

Williamson said it all, just check those websites.
However, I just wanted to remind you that graduating from the most prestigious schools is not enough to work as an Interpreter for the UN or the EU: in both cases, you will have to pass their entrance examinations after graduating.
That said, those schools will offer you an excellent preparation for those examinations.
Paris is certainly an expensive city, but compare the tuition fees to those of other programs...Esit might be
... See more
Williamson said it all, just check those websites.
However, I just wanted to remind you that graduating from the most prestigious schools is not enough to work as an Interpreter for the UN or the EU: in both cases, you will have to pass their entrance examinations after graduating.
That said, those schools will offer you an excellent preparation for those examinations.