Thread poster: Libero_Lang_Lab
Libero_Lang_Lab
Libero_Lang_Lab  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:28
Russian to English
+ ...
Feb 17, 2011

I'm interested to know what approach other interpreters take when asked to work at weekends. In other lines of work, in the UK at least, hourly rates are increased on Saturdays and Sundays.

I've never been able to establish definitively whether this is the norm for interpreting. I'd welcome the thoughts of others.

Nikita Kobrin
Nikita Kobrin  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Local time: 06:28
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
I enjoy the peculiarities of freelancing Feb 17, 2011

Hi Dan

Dan Brennan wrote:

In other lines of work, in the UK at least, hourly rates are increased on Saturdays and Sundays.

I think this concerns more those who works in-house. Being a freelancer I don't charge extra for working on weekends. Sometimes I even prefer to have a rest on week days instead and am quite happy that can afford it: the bars and museums are not so overcrowded as they are on weekends...

But I apply a surcharge for overnight working: 50% for working from 7 pm till 11 pm and 100% for working after 11 pm...

Nikita Kobrin

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:28
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Same Rate Feb 17, 2011

It can often be the case that you could be called upon to work a weekend, let's say for a conference. I agree with Nikita that such situations are the joy of freelancing. You are not bound by any particular schedule and can allow yourself many freedoms others do not have. So you work a weekend, but to compensate for that you have time for yourself on other occasions. Now if a client expects you to work 12-hour days then yes, you need to consider an overtime rate, because that can be quite exhaus... See more