https://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/233353-any_conference_interpreting_course_in_nl_b_allowing_dutch_as_b_language_and_english_as_a_language.html

Any Conference Interpreting course (in NL/B) allowing Dutch as B language and English as A language?
Thread poster: Alexander C. Thomson
Alexander C. Thomson
Alexander C. Thomson  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 09:53
Dutch to English
+ ...
Sep 24, 2012

Dear colleagues,

I’d be very grateful for career advice on the following, and above all to be corrected on any wrong assumptions I’m making.

I’m a freelance translator with successful informal interpreting experience; I’m British, have been resident in the Netherlands for three years now, am married to a Dutchwoman and we’re settled here for the foreseeable future. I’m considering making the switch to Conference Interpreting — specifically for the EU insti
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I’d be very grateful for career advice on the following, and above all to be corrected on any wrong assumptions I’m making.

I’m a freelance translator with successful informal interpreting experience; I’m British, have been resident in the Netherlands for three years now, am married to a Dutchwoman and we’re settled here for the foreseeable future. I’m considering making the switch to Conference Interpreting — specifically for the EU institutions (because we live in Dordrecht, within commuting distance of Brussels by train).

I’m encouraged by what I see online (in ProZ forums, on the European institutions’ own sites, and elsewhere) about the pressing need for new people in the English booth, and particularly attracted by the freelance path. (I understand that I’d most realistically need to build up commercial Conference Interpreting experience first after graduating from an MA or Postgraduate Diploma before standing a good chance in the EU’s tests for freelance Conference Interpreters).