Becoming a professional interpreter - your personal trajectory?
Thread poster: veratek
veratek
veratek
Brazil
Local time: 22:46
French to English
+ ...
Mar 24, 2014

Hello,

I don't know that many language interpreters, but I am always curious as to how they became one.

Would you like to briefly share your story? When did you decide to become an interpreter? Were you still in school or was it afterwards? Do you feel interpreting is like learning a musical instrument or learning to play a sport? How was your first professional interpretation experience? Any surprises that you had along the way about the profession?

Franco Rigoni
Franco Rigoni  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2006)
English to Italian
+ ...
First simultaneous interpreting job ... Mar 24, 2014

I remember my first simultaneous interpreting service: the ambassador of Belgium talked about how to help people from the Balcans. I was still at the school for interpreters and translators, I studied a lot before the conference, I was absolutely scared, but it went well. It was such a thrilling experience that I simply wanted to do it again ... well, here I am!

Triston Goodwin
Triston Goodwin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:46
Spanish to English
+ ...
Second Generation Mar 24, 2014

My mom was an ASL interpreter for a long time, so it may have been genetic

I started interpreting while I was serving as a missionary in Argentina. I helped with some construction projects there and ended up interpreting and did a little translation as well. My first paid interpreting job was in a call center for a big vehicle financing company. I started as a English - Spanish customer service representative and they
... See more
My mom was an ASL interpreter for a long time, so it may have been genetic