Survey participation for university study.
Thread poster: Pawel Mosur
Pawel Mosur
Pawel Mosur
Polish to English
+ ...
Mar 31, 2014

Dear Interpreters,

My name is Pawel and I am an undergraduate student at Middlesex University in London. The reason, I am posting this topic is that, I am about to undertake a study regarding variety of regional English accents and dialects and their impact on the work of public service interpreters working in various settings. I hope that findings from that study will help me understand whether or not interpreters have problems with understanding different accents and dialects
... See more
Dear Interpreters,

My name is Pawel and I am an undergraduate student at Middlesex University in London. The reason, I am posting this topic is that, I am about to undertake a study regarding variety of regional English accents and dialects and their impact on the work of public service interpreters working in various settings. I hope that findings from that study will help me understand whether or not interpreters have problems with understanding different accents and dialects and if so how do they resolve those obstacles.

IF YOU ARE AN INTERPRETER WORKING IN PUBLIC SERVICE LIVING IN ENGLAND (NOT IN SCOTLAND, WALES OR NORTHERN IRELAND) I WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO TAKE PART IN THIS STUDY.

It should not take more than 5 minutes to complete the survey and the survey itself is anonymous, so I will appreciate that you give your honest answer to each question stated.

I would really appreciate if you could complete the survey as this, will allow me to conduct my study, which in return will allow me to make suggestions on how the interpreters’ training could be improved.

The survey is online based using SmartSurvey website and is available via the link below:

http://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s.asp?i=109342rfzcw