Teresa Woischiski
Teresa Woischiski  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:42
English to German
+ ...
Feb 27, 2018

Dear colleagues,

I am a freelance translator who wants to start with interpretation Eng>Ger (not simultaneous for now).
What training steps would you recommend me?

Is there a way to train myself in interpretation without having to study full-time? This would not possible for me, timewise. I live in Berlin, so any interpreters who live and work in Berlin: your help and feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

all the best,
Teres
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I am a freelance translator who wants to start with interpretation Eng>Ger (not simultaneous for now).
What training steps would you recommend me?

Is there a way to train myself in interpretation without having to study full-time? This would not possible for me, timewise. I live in Berlin, so any interpreters who live and work in Berlin: your help and feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

all the best,
Teresa
Collapse

Sun Min Lotterie (maiden name Espindola)
France
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Books Feb 27, 2018

Hi Teresa,

I can suggest a book as an introduction to interpreting:

Conference Interpreting Explained by Roderick Jones.

Maybe the local German translation association has information on training.

Regards,

Joy

Juliano Martins
Juliano Martins  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 17:42
Member (2008)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I did it Feb 27, 2018

Dear Teresa,

I am a translator since 2008. In 2012, I wanted to become an interpreter too. Therefore, I attended an online course in a Brazilian interpreting school for English-Portuguese during one year. But after that I didn’t get any interpreting jobs, and continued focusing on translation. I think it happened because I didn’t know anyone in my city (Fortaleza) hiring interpreters, besides I was very comfortable with my translation jobs from international agencies already.... See more
Dear Teresa,