Off topic: Pursuing Careers in Interpreting - Advice?
Thread poster: Mourton
Mourton
Mourton
English to Portuguese
Jan 17, 2008

Good afternoon, forum!

I'm terribly sorry to pester you with questions that may have, most likely, been asked and perhaps answered before, but I wish to pursue a career in Interpreting, and I was wondering if you may tell me if what I am doing would be enough to realise it.

First of all, I'm a college student from England studying Spanish in lessons and Portuguese also, yet outside of official education, since I can garner help from friends of Portugal, luckily, to impr
... See more
Good afternoon, forum!

I'm terribly sorry to pester you with questions that may have, most likely, been asked and perhaps answered before, but I wish to pursue a career in Interpreting, and I was wondering if you may tell me if what I am doing would be enough to realise it.

First of all, I'm a college student from England studying Spanish in lessons and Portuguese also, yet outside of official education, since I can garner help from friends of Portugal, luckily, to improve! I was hoping to join a University once I've left college to sign up for a Modern Languages course of Portugese and Russian, equally learnt; since I have had experience with Portuguese I think that aspect of it will be quite all right.

Are Portuguese and Russian languages that are sought after, however? At an Army interview I heard Arabic was a language ideal for the current situation, but I've not even touched upon it before.

In an ideal world I would be travelling globally to interpret, but I don't know which qualifications are required to join these various agencies of interpreting.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and sorry again if it's a repetitive question!

Adieu.
Collapse

The Misha
The Misha
Local time: 04:09
Russian to English
+ ...
Go with Arabic Jan 17, 2008