Why do I have a MXLF file and then the normal MXLIFF files for Memsource Editor?
Thread poster: Fredrik Pettersson
Fredrik Pettersson
Fredrik Pettersson  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 18:56
Member (2009)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Mar 28, 2020

Why do I have a MXLF file and then the normal MXLIFF files for Memsource Editor?

I received a work kit from the customer containing one MXLF file on 5 MB. Then, in their online Memsource account, there are the normal MXLIFF files for download. I can not open this MXLF file though, so I wonder what it's for?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Fredrik Mar 28, 2020

Fredrik Pettersson wrote:
I received a work kit from the customer containing one MXLF file. ... I can not open this MXLF file though.

I'm not a Memsource expert, but while we wait for those to appear, a quick google leads me to suspect that MXLF files and MXLIFF files are the same file type, except with different file extensions. What happens when you rename the MXLF file so that it has an MXLIFF file extension? [1]

When you say that you can not open the MXLF file, how did you try to open it? In what program were you trying to open it?

Have you tried opening the MXLF file in a text editor, and if so, were you able to see the text or did you get a warning that it is a binary file?

--
[1] Remember, though, even if you can open the file by renaming the file extension, it may be that the server expects a certain file name (including file extension) when sending it to the server, if that is something that you need to do.

[Edited at 2020-03-28 09:53 GMT]

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 20:56
English to Russian
Why don't you ask your client? Mar 28, 2020

Why do I have a MXLF file and what is it for?