Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Unsolicited Email Response - You sent me your CV because???
Thread poster: Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

May 29, 2017

So, I've been getting a fair few unsolicited emails from linguists in my language pair. I generally apologise politely saying that I work alone and don't need anything more to worry about etc. etc. (my direction is Thai-English).

Today I received a very formal unsolicited email from a gentleman which said:
"Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to introduce myself as an accredited and experienced freelance translator and researcher.

With a multicultural background and as an Arabic Native speaker, I have been working as a freelance translator for more than 8 years. I have worked on a variety of projects translating from Arabic into English and vice versa acquired experience in many areas from technics, medicine to finance, legal and marketing. I am now looking for new challenges in my career."

Arabic!? What was he thinking? Do many of us freelancers run agencies that handle multiple languages in our free time or had this guy just spammed the whole ProZ listing?

So, at 1:00am in the morning my response was as frank as could be:
"I’m a freelance Thai>English translator…. why would I ever need your Arabic services?

You haven’t done very good research for an 'accredited researcher'….dumbass"

[Edited at 2017-05-29 15:42 GMT]

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:51
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Why bother to insult the writer? May 29, 2017