Thread poster: Efe Bütüner
Efe Bütüner
Efe Bütüner
Türkiye
English to Turkish
+ ...
Apr 30, 2020

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to Studio 2019 (switching from memoQ) but I can't figure out how I can manage to import different bilingual excel files into the same project. These files have different source and target columns, yet I can't seem to find a way to apply different column-based import settings for each file. Is it that I can't do it or Studio doesn't have such an option?

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:29
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
File types Apr 30, 2020

Dear eabutuner,

You need to add and use the file type "Bilingual Excel File", which offers options to set which columns represent the source and target language. In order to add a file type, go to "Project settings" and look for a "link" above(!) the file types list.

HTH,
Erik

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Erik, @eabutuner Apr 30, 2020

Erik Freitag wrote:
You need to add and use the file type "Bilingual Excel File", which offers options to set which columns represent the source and target language.

Yes, but can you use different columns for different files within a single project? Can you use columns A and B in file 1, and use columns D and E for file 2, etc., in a single project? I was not able to do it, but perhaps there is a way?

eabutuner wrote:
I can't seem to find a way to apply different column-based import settings for each file. Is it that I can't do it or Studio doesn't have such an option?