Thread poster: Ismael Romero
Ismael Romero
Ismael Romero
Colombia
Local time: 08:36
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 2, 2018

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new in the subtitling field and I'm training myself getting some experience before going out so I created some srt. files using Subtitle Edit.
The thing is that when I play or hardcode the subtitles in the video some of them appear in the right place all the way down in the bottom but some others appear above and it doesn't look good at all. I've tried everything and nothing worked. i'm using VLC video editor and player but I think the issue comes from Subtitle Edit
... See more
Hi everyone! I'm pretty new in the subtitling field and I'm training myself getting some experience before going out so I created some srt. files using Subtitle Edit.
The thing is that when I play or hardcode the subtitles in the video some of them appear in the right place all the way down in the bottom but some others appear above and it doesn't look good at all. I've tried everything and nothing worked. i'm using VLC video editor and player but I think the issue comes from Subtitle Edit. I don't know how to upload pictures to posts so I owe you them.
Thank you very much.
Collapse

Reşat Bir
Reşat Bir
Türkiye
Local time: 16:36
English to Turkish
+ ...
How to change the position of a subtitle Feb 4, 2018

Hi Ismael,

To change the position of a subtitle in Subtitle Edit, right click > alignment and choose the new position. Or simply, you can manually add "{\an8}" to the beginning of the subtitle line that you want to move to top, and add "{\an2}" for the subtitles you want to move to the bottom of the screen.

I hope that helps!

Regards,
Reşat

Ismael Romero
Ismael Romero
Colombia
Local time: 08:36
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Misplaced subtitles Feb 5, 2018

HI Reşat Bir, thank you very much for your answer.