Using the same mark up twice in a segment (in target) even though its used once in source.
Thread poster: jjdelaney
jjdelaney
jjdelaney
Ireland
Jul 30, 2017

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to Transit, but on my last piece of work I had allot of trouble doing something which seems like it should be fairly simple. I translate Irish Gaeilge which requires very different word placing than English. In this project, one segment contained lets say 7 markups, and although in the English this was 1-7 in order, in Irish it was very different. So different, that the translation actually would have required 2 of mark up (1) for example used in different p
... See more
Hi guys,

I am fairly new to Transit, but on my last piece of work I had allot of trouble doing something which seems like it should be fairly simple. I translate Irish Gaeilge which requires very different word placing than English. In this project, one segment contained lets say 7 markups, and although in the English this was 1-7 in order, in Irish it was very different. So different, that the translation actually would have required 2 of mark up (1) for example used in different place, contrary to the source. Whenever I tried to add the markup to a second phrase, it would 'jump' from the first one, effectively being deleted from the first phrase needing the markup. In other words, it would not allow me to use the same mark up on two words in the segment. I have found that other segments DID allow me to do this and I cannot seem to find out why this was. Can anyone help me find out how to control this or make it so the settings allow me to use as many of any given mark up as I need?

Thank you kindly
Collapse

AlSqur (X)
AlSqur (X)
copy Jul 30, 2017

I understand you very well, because I know Gaeilge a bit.
What kind of markups these are? Formatting?