Thread poster: Ayín Jara Didier
Ayín Jara Didier
Ayín Jara Didier
Chile
Local time: 17:39
English to Spanish
Nov 13, 2014

Hello!

I'm doing my first stabs on what, I hope, will be a regular kind of work for me: translation of academic texts. Right now, I'm working on a philosophy paper, intended to be published, and the author wants to make sure that my name appears somewhere, in order to give appropiate credit to my work and asked me to check what's the appropiate way to do it. The thing is, I'm very new at translating academic papers.

Considering that the author is providing her name rig
... See more
Hello!

I'm doing my first stabs on what, I hope, will be a regular kind of work for me: translation of academic texts. Right now, I'm working on a philosophy paper, intended to be published, and the author wants to make sure that my name appears somewhere, in order to give appropiate credit to my work and asked me to check what's the appropiate way to do it. The thing is, I'm very new at translating academic papers.

Considering that the author is providing her name right below the name of the paper, what should I write? (I guess that "Translated by XYZ" should be enough) and where should I write it? (surely below the author's name)

[Edited at 2014-11-13 17:55 GMT]
Collapse

Piyush Ojha
Piyush Ojha  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:39
English to Hindi
+ ...
Credit for translation in the Acknowledgements section Nov 13, 2014

Academic papers normally contain an 'Acknowledgements' section near the end. That's where credit for translation should be given: 'I am grateful to XYZ for translating this paper from the original {language name}'.

[Edited at 2014-11-13 15:08 GMT]

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
Don't hide your light under a bushel! Nov 13, 2014

If it's for a journal, they may have their own guidelines. Otherwise, I would put it immediately below the author's name, perhaps in a smaller font or in italics.