Thread poster: Yenny Fernandez
Yenny Fernandez
Yenny Fernandez  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:57
English to Spanish
Nov 16, 2015

Dear colleagues,

How are you? I am here today with the hopes of finding answers to some question related to my chances of getting translating work as a freelancer without any prior knowledge of translation software. I have been translating for more than 9 years, however I just recently became an ATA member and just joined this community. Up to this point, I have done all my translation work by using Microsoft word, it was not until recently that I discovered the existence of the var
... See more
Dear colleagues,

How are you? I am here today with the hopes of finding answers to some question related to my chances of getting translating work as a freelancer without any prior knowledge of translation software. I have been translating for more than 9 years, however I just recently became an ATA member and just joined this community. Up to this point, I have done all my translation work by using Microsoft word, it was not until recently that I discovered the existence of the various translation software tools available for translators as well as their importance when it comes to finding work as a freelancer. I also realized that the cost of these translating tools is very high, especially for someone who is just starting to get her feet wet in the freelance world. So, my first question is, is it possible to find freelance work without having access to one of these translation tools? If not, what are the options, besides having to spend hundreds of dollars buying one of these tools? Is it possible, to get free training to learn how to use sdl trados, wordfast or memoQ?
I would really appreciate any suggestions and responses to my questions since at this point I feel kind of loss in the world of freelance translators.

Thank you,

Yenny
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 08:57