Off topic: Best CAT tool for a beginner?
Thread poster: Firas Allouzi
Firas Allouzi
Firas Allouzi  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:52
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jan 3, 2012

Hi All,

I am fairly new to all tools would you advice me please what is the best and easiest for a beginner, and at the same time do the job and preferable for clients.

Thank you

John Di Rico
John Di Rico  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 21:52
Member (2006)
French to English
Wordfast Anywhere Jan 3, 2012

Hello Firas,

I would recommend trying Wordfast Anyhwhere (www.freetm.com). It is free and there are a lot of online training videos and good user support from the development team (see user forums).

Good luck!

John Di Rico
www.apextra.net

JLLTranslation
JLLTranslation
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:52
French to English
+ ...
probably SDL Studio Jan 4, 2012

Hi,
if you're wanting to work for clients, your best bet is SDL Studio, giving you Trados and SDLX compatibility. If you want to work for SDL, this is what you'll need and it will probably enable you to reach the greatest range of other potential clients. But some clients e.g. Lionbridge, have their own tool. So it depends on your client base as well. You need to decide which clients you plan to target for work. If you're going to target smaller clients, ask which tool they would want you
... See more
Hi,
if you're wanting to work for clients, your best bet is SDL Studio, giving you Trados and SDLX compatibility. If you want to work for SDL, this is what you'll need and it will probably enable you to reach the greatest range of other potential clients. But some clients e.g. Lionbridge, have their own tool. So it depends on your client base as well. You need to decide which clients you plan to target for work. If you're going to target smaller clients, ask which tool they would want you to have.
Hope this helps.
Collapse

esperantisto
esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:52
Member (2006)
English to Russian