I need help to write a good comment to a translation
Thread poster: Manuela1983
Manuela1983
Manuela1983
Italy
May 13, 2014

Hi everybody..
I have to comment a bunch of translations from English to Italian so i was wondering if you could suggest any link or guide line in order to write good comments. To be honest I'm not too good at it, so I want to learn. Thank you in advance for your help!

Josephine Cassar
Josephine Cassar  Identity Verified
Malta
Local time: 10:44
Member (2012)
English to Maltese
+ ...
A link or guide May 13, 2014

I wonder why you would want a link but not use your own judgement. Read the text well, see the answers provided(the translations), then compare and say where one used a wrong term or misunderstood, point out grammar, spelling, punctuation mistakes, comment on style. A link is not much use as it would be general whereas you would have a specific topic. Use your judgement and see how you yourself would have translated it, researching terms, ambiguities. good luck

Kay Denney
Kay Denney  Identity Verified
France
French to English
a few ideas May 14, 2014

If you are to assess a whole bunch of translations then you need to do it systematically.

You might want to divide your assessment into various sections, for example

- terminology (including consistency),
- fluidity (does it flow, does it sound natural or stilted, have they made an effort to find the right
word rather than just using the one that resembles the word used in the source text),
- accuracy (including omissions, additions, whether
... See more
If you are to assess a whole bunch of translations then you need to do it systematically.

- fluidity (does it flow, does it sound natural or stilted, have they made an effort to find the right
word rather than just using the one that resembles the word used in the source text),
- accuracy (including omissions, additions, whether the language comes across as too strong or
too wishy-washy compared to the original),