Thread poster: Reka Virag
Reka Virag
Reka Virag
Hungary
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Oct 1, 2020

Hi there,

I'm super keen on idioms, proverbs, sayings, fixed expressions and the like (hereafter: idioms) so I've been collecting them for a few years now in various languages. The collections has several hundred idiom pairs (the same idiom at least in two different languages, but I have many of them in up to 5 languages. Each entry/language has three sections: Form, Definition, Example (and some special features like false friends, synoyms and antonyms, etc). Lately, I've been cons
... See more
Hi there,

I'm super keen on idioms, proverbs, sayings, fixed expressions and the like (hereafter: idioms) so I've been collecting them for a few years now in various languages. The collections has several hundred idiom pairs (the same idiom at least in two different languages, but I have many of them in up to 5 languages. Each entry/language has three sections: Form, Definition, Example (and some special features like false friends, synoyms and antonyms, etc). Lately, I've been considering making it publicly available, and I wonder if there was a need for / interest in this. I was thinking in an online dictionary or also offering up particular language pairs in Excel files.

My questions, then, are,
1. How often do you come across idiomatic expressions in your translation work (like, regularly, often, every now-and then, hardly ever and in what fields),
2. Would you find such a dictionary helpful, and
3. Altogether, what do you think of the idea?

Thanks in advance for your input!
Reka
Collapse

Silvia Pellacani
expressisverbis

Luca Tutino
Luca Tutino  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
Good Idea! Oct 3, 2020

Reka Virag wrote:

1. How often do you come across idiomatic expressions in your translation work (like, regularly, often, every now-and then, hardly ever and in what fields),
2. Would you find such a dictionary helpful, and