Translating medical forms
Thread poster: MARIANA VITEK
MARIANA VITEK
MARIANA VITEK
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 28, 2011

Hi,

I am pretty new in the industry and I'm wondering if someone can give me some input on this. I have a general medical form to translate from Spanish into English. There are only 2 or 3 medical conditions "checked" in a form containing many, many other medical scenarios none of which seemed to pertain to this patient. Do you translate everything that is listed even though none are "checked" in the form or do you only translate what pertains to that particular patient?

... See more
Hi,

I am pretty new in the industry and I'm wondering if someone can give me some input on this. I have a general medical form to translate from Spanish into English. There are only 2 or 3 medical conditions "checked" in a form containing many, many other medical scenarios none of which seemed to pertain to this patient. Do you translate everything that is listed even though none are "checked" in the form or do you only translate what pertains to that particular patient?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:30
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Check with your client Oct 28, 2011

If your client is the patient, then he or she may not need the other fields translated at all. Otherwise it is likely that you will need to translate everything, especially if you haven't received any instructions to the contrary.

In any case, you definitely need to check with your client before omitting chunks of the original text in your translation. Bear in mind that the decision will affect your target/source wordcount too.

MARIANA VITEK
MARIANA VITEK
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank-you Oct 28, 2011

Many thanks for your help .. I appreciate it! Take Care

Michael Barnett
Michael Barnett
Local time: 06:30
English
+ ...
My opinion... Oct 28, 2011