Spanish - English Dictionaries for ATA Exam
Thread poster: Danelle Hood
Danelle Hood
Danelle Hood  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:48
Spanish to English
May 21, 2016

I am a Spanish to English translator and I am preparing to take the ATA exam. I am trying to decide which dictionaries to purchase and take with me to the exam. Does anyone have any recommendations? Now that they are allowing computerized exams, I am allowed to bring both electronic and paper dictionaries. What dictionaries did everyone else use? Thank you for your help!

Merab Dekano
Merab Dekano  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2014)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Some insight May 21, 2016

dhood wrote:

I am a Spanish to English translator and I am preparing to take the ATA exam. I am trying to decide which dictionaries to purchase and take with me to the exam. Does anyone have any recommendations? Now that they are allowing computerized exams, I am allowed to bring both electronic and paper dictionaries. What dictionaries did everyone else use? Thank you for your help!

I sat the for the exam (EN>ES) on 14 April 2016. I had with me:

- law dictionary
- large, really large general dictionary both EN>ES and ES>EN
- style, grammar and spelling manuals

I hardly used my law dictionary (I did double-check a couple of terms, though, but I could clearly do without it). However, I did use my general dictionary very extensively, mostly to figure out the meaning of really large number of idioms. I could guess general meaning but my dictionary really helped me to make sure I properly understood the idiom.

I saw people with twelve or even fifteen dictionaries. I presume it's comfortable to have everything at hand, but there is no time to go though those books, really.

My advice would be:

- if it's a computer-based exam (mine was paper-based), take everything you have/can get.