clairetransl (X)
clairetransl (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:37
French to English
+ ...
Nov 8, 2012

Hi everyone,

I've recently relocated to Spain (Valencia) and am trying to get into freelance translation. I have a Master's in Translation and a bit of experience, but not a lot. I'd love to do some voluntary work, especially for a local charity but anything at all would be great.

I've seen a few charity offices around Valencia and have gone in and given them my details, but does anyone have any other ideas about organisations I could approach to offer my services?

Attila Piróth
Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 20:37
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Report on pro bono survey Nov 8, 2012

Hi Claire,

A couple of weeks ago I conducted a survey about pro bono work to see how translators draw the line between acceptable and unacceptable, what kind of franweworks permit translators to derive benefit from their volunteer work, etc. About 160 people replied, and the survey summary is now available on http://www.pirothattila.com/PB_Survey.pdf

Best,
Attila

clairetransl (X)
clairetransl (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:37
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Pro bono work Nov 8, 2012

Attila Piróth wrote:

Hi Claire,

A couple of weeks ago I conducted a survey about pro bono work to see how translators draw the line between acceptable and unacceptable, what kind of franweworks permit translators to derive benefit from their volunteer work, etc. About 160 people replied, and the survey summary is now available on http://www.pirothattila.com/PB_Survey.pdf

Best,
Attila

Thanks - interesting reading, Attila!

Are the Proz Solidarités team accepting any new translators or do you need to be very experienced to join?

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
None sure about local charities in Valencia Nov 8, 2012