Thread poster: Irina Banks
Irina Banks
Irina Banks
United States
Local time: 00:45
English to Russian
+ ...
Sep 17, 2009

Can somebody please give me an idea about the cost of desk top publishing - once you are given the translation and the source text, say in pdf format with the request to deliver an outlay similar to the original document? I am interested: in pricing per page and average time per page. Thanks.

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 03:45
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Too many variables are involved Sep 17, 2009

I have been doing DTP with PageMaker for 20+ years, and haven't yet found a "safe" way to calculate costs. A while ago I developed (using OmniForm) an electronic form that would allow me, by entering some publication-specific data, to calculate cost.

Key variables are:

Page size - Of course, there is only so much you can sensibly cram into a page, so it determines how much "stuff" will be in there.

... See more
I have been doing DTP with PageMaker for 20+ years, and haven't yet found a "safe" way to calculate costs. A while ago I developed (using OmniForm) an electronic form that would allow me, by entering some publication-specific data, to calculate cost.

Key variables are:

Page size - Of course, there is only so much you can sensibly cram into a page, so it determines how much "stuff" will be in there.

Page count - Pretty obvious, though I consider also how many pages are B&W and how many in color. I also consider how many pages contain illustrations. This may increase complexity (e.g wrap-arounds, St. Sebastians & other stuff) or decrease it (e.g. just a photo and one caption).

Tables - Their size and complexity. Some of them may involve a lot of work, especially if cells are crammed with text. I class them into three complexity categories.