Need Advice in Japanese-English Translation Career
Thread poster: shii405
Nov 17, 2011

Hi Everyone,

I need advice. These are my conditions:

-I'm an Indonesian and live in Indonesia
-My bachelor degree is Dentistry
-I have studied intensive Japanese for 1 year in a Japanese language school at Tokyo.
-I have passed Japanese Language Proficiency Test Level-1
-I have nearly native-level fluency in both Japanese and English
-I've been working in a Japanese trading firm for 3 years (speaking Japanese and writing business e-mails in
... See more
Hi Everyone,

I need advice. These are my conditions:

-I'm an Indonesian and live in Indonesia
-My bachelor degree is Dentistry
-I have studied intensive Japanese for 1 year in a Japanese language school at Tokyo.
-I've been working in a Japanese trading firm for 3 years (speaking Japanese and writing business e-mails in Japanese everyday, had to do interpreting in business meetings once in awhile)
-I have had translated documents from Japanese to English/Indonesian, for a lawyer firm since early this year, as a side job.

My dream is to be a full-time Japanese translator / interpreter. But I just realized that translators in Indonesia is paid a pittance and the industry is underdeveloped.

Is there any chance for me to work in the Japanese to English translation/interpretation business industry?

Do I have to take MA in translation or a certification in United States for that? How can I find business connections in the States, so that even after I return to Indonesia, I'd still get Japanese to English translation works regularly?

My main interest is to work on novels, legal documents, etc. But if there's a chance, I'd like to work as an interpreter as well.

What should I do to achieve my goal, to work in the Japanese to English translation/interpretation business industry?

Any suggestions, comments, and opinions, would be very appreciated!
Collapse

XX789 (X)
XX789 (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 02:17