Best options for an American newbie seeking MA?
Thread poster: sarahng (X)
sarahng (X)
sarahng (X)
Local time: 08:53
May 5, 2012

I'm an American recent college grad (psychology degree) interested in pursing French translation, localization, or some other field involving linguistics and foreign language. I'm an excellent researcher (I have a full-time job doing online research right now), a strong writer, good with languages, prefer solitary work, and love the idea of being self-employed. I also have good technical skills and picked up programming very easily in college. Ideally I would like to become a translator speci... See more
I'm an American recent college grad (psychology degree) interested in pursing French translation, localization, or some other field involving linguistics and foreign language. I'm an excellent researcher (I have a full-time job doing online research right now), a strong writer, good with languages, prefer solitary work, and love the idea of being self-employed. I also have good technical skills and picked up programming very easily in college. Ideally I would like to become a translator specializing in technical or scientific materials, but I'm also open to other fields like localization or even positions in computational lingustics that incorporate foreign language somehow. I'm taking the next several months to study French intensively and hope to apply to grad school this fall (I do speak French at an advanced level and I have lived in France, I just want to perfect my skills before applying to a program). Here are a couple of questions that have been on my mind.