Would you recommend a career change from teaching to translating from German to English?
Thread poster: Elisabeth Sadler
Elisabeth Sadler
Elisabeth Sadler  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:11
German to English
+ ...
Jul 17, 2012

Hi! I'm a UK based teacher and would appreciate some advice. I'm considering a career change: because I have three young children I would like to work from home and translating seems like a good option. I'm a German native speaker but have lived, studied and worked in England for half my life.

My questions are as follows:
1. Is there enough work out there for a translator from German to English?
2. Which fields are particularly sought after?
3. Am I likely to su
... See more
Hi! I'm a UK based teacher and would appreciate some advice. I'm considering a career change: because I have three young children I would like to work from home and translating seems like a good option. I'm a German native speaker but have lived, studied and worked in England for half my life.

3. Am I likely to succeed with my level of skill? I can write accurately (as I teacher I have thorough knowledge of spelling and grammar) and I'm a prolific reader of novels and newspapers (as well as a graduate in musicology), but I don't think I'm a naturally fluent writer. I'm hoping to learn, of course.
Collapse

Elke Fehling
Elke Fehling  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:11
Member (2005)
English to German
+ ...
Not really fluent in the target language: Don't! Jul 18, 2012

sadlere wrote:

There probably is. The question is if you are able to find and keep that work.

What fields are you especially good at? In my opinion it's the technical field, but I don't really know for sure. It's important that you pick a field that you are good at, not a field that is sought after.