Translating legal documents
Thread poster: haitch
haitch
haitch
Local time: 19:27
German to English
Sep 30, 2004

If I translate a contract and somebody gets financially damaged as a result of signing that contract, can I be made liable for damage claims? Whether or not I make translation errors? I'm not a lawyer, nor do I have any legal training and I'm only just starting out as a freelance translator and I hate doing these things because it worries me that there might be repurcussions

Thanks

LindaMcM
LindaMcM  Identity Verified
Swedish to German
+ ...
That's why I... Sep 30, 2004

That's why I refuse doing legal translations...

I'm also not a lawyer and I don't know if and how you can be made liable for those kind of errors - I'm sure someone with respective experience will give you a proper answer - but if you have no experiences in the legal field I would refuse doing this kind of work...

Actually, I would advise you not to take any job you don't feel well with...

Derek Gill Franßen
Derek Gill Franßen  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
In memoriam
THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE! Sep 30, 2004

If you do something wrong (and could have helped it) and someone else suffers damages as a result, there will almost always be a way (for an attorney) to make you liable for the damages you caused (regardless of the field).

Always try to do your best, don't get in over your head and you'll be fine. But if you're looking for ways to ease your mind, you could consider the following steps:

1. Consult an attorney you trust (afterwards it is almost always too late);
... See more
If you do something wrong (and could have helped it) and someone else suffers damages as a result, there will almost always be a way (for an attorney) to make you liable for the damages you caused (regardless of the field).

Always try to do your best, don't get in over your head and you'll be fine. But if you're looking for ways to ease your mind, you could consider the following steps: