Always necessary to get a purchase order signed?
Thread poster: Estefanía González
Estefanía González
Estefanía González  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 3, 2004

Hi all,

I am new to freelancing, so I guess that when we are dealing with direct clients we have to get a purchase order signed.

But what happens when we are dealing with an agency? Does the same rule apply?

Thanks!

Estefanía

davidgreen
davidgreen
German to English
I've never paid attention to purchase orders Nov 3, 2004

I've always considered purchase orders to be an excess bit of paperwork, opting instead to decide whether or not I could trust the person hiring me. I don't think I ever saw one when working in the US and I've only been stiffed twice in my whole career.

Estefanía González
Estefanía González  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Purchase order Nov 3, 2004

Hi all,

In the event a purchase order is sent to a client (agency or not), do they have to fax it back with their signature, or will an email confirmation by which they agree to the terms of the purchase order be enough?

Thanks!

Estefania

Lucinda Hollenberg
Lucinda Hollenberg  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:20
Dutch to English
+ ...
P.O. or not Nov 3, 2004

Many agencies will automatically send a PO with every new job. But they do not all do this.

Two of my best client have never send me one, they are a joy to work with and pay on the dot. They told me that they do not send POs, but assign each job a work number.

This is what the Project Manager of one said: "Please refer to that number on your invoice, I will provide the work number to the financial dept., so after you send your invoice(s) to that department, they'l
... See more
Many agencies will automatically send a PO with every new job. But they do not all do this.