Jay
Jay
United States
Local time: 23:45
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 2, 2002

Dear collegues,

I graduated in Translation and Interpretation not a long time ago. I am from Spain but for personal reasons I am planning to move to the US. Obviously, I am finding all kind of problems to get a visa and I was wondering if by stablishing there as a freelancer that would help in some way. Has anybody had a similar situation? I am completely lost and I would appreciate any information. Thank you all in advance.

Isabelle Louis
Isabelle Louis
United States
Local time: 23:45
English to French
+ ...
Get established in the US Aug 2, 2002

Dear Cao,

I am a French translator living in the US and I guess that if this new profession could have helped to get a professional visa, I would have taken the opportunity...

But from what I know about the american immigration Laws, your status doesn\'t allow you to get a professional visa like a HB1, for this one you would have to find a sponsor who will commit to pay you a certain salary during three years and will deal with all the process of visa wh
... See more
Dear Cao,

I am a French translator living in the US and I guess that if this new profession could have helped to get a professional visa, I would have taken the opportunity...

But from what I know about the american immigration Laws, your status doesn\'t allow you to get a professional visa like a HB1, for this one you would have to find a sponsor who will commit to pay you a certain salary during three years and will deal with all the process of visa while you will be out, for you are not allowed to stay on the territory during this procedure.

You are mentionning personal reasons, I had personal reasons as well to come here and I have been trying several things, I investigated different ways in order to finally get this magical key which would allow me to become legal here.