Angela Masella
Angela Masella  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:59
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 7, 2021

Hi everyone,

I have done a bit of resource on this topic, but I have not found a coherent answer.
I hold a MA in Translation studies, therefore I am a qualified translator when it comes to certify my own translations for the UK. I am aware though that some institutional bodies in the UK, such as the Home Office, do not accept a self-certification by the translator themselves - would this only be the case for sworn or apostilled translations, but not certified ones?

... See more
Hi everyone,

I have done a bit of resource on this topic, but I have not found a coherent answer.
I hold a MA in Translation studies, therefore I am a qualified translator when it comes to certify my own translations for the UK. I am aware though that some institutional bodies in the UK, such as the Home Office, do not accept a self-certification by the translator themselves - would this only be the case for sworn or apostilled translations, but not certified ones?

And another questions for Italian translators, when translating a certificate into Italian, is again a self-certification ok for Italy, or would a translator need to be on consular and embassy lists for their translation to be accepted by Italian institutions?

Thank you so much in advance.
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 14:59
Dutch to English
+ ...
Suggestion Jun 7, 2021

I suggest you contact the Home Office or, if there is a national translators' organisation in the UK, contact their office.

Luca Vaccari
Luca Vaccari  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:59
Swedish to Italian
+ ...
Court or notarius publicus Jun 9, 2021

Normally, a translation can be sworn for free at a court or for a huge cost at a notarius. In both cases, you must pay a stamp fee (at present 16 euro for each set of 4 pages and fractions thereof).