Thread poster: JennyC08 (X)
JennyC08 (X)
JennyC08 (X)
Local time: 06:31
German to French
+ ...
Apr 1, 2005

Hi,

I am a newbie in using Trados and would like to have some information about the Batch function.
I was given a Word document to translate that is in "Batch mode" (not sure what it means...).
When I open the document, all Trados tags are there. So I asked the agency if I can use TW to translate the file and the girl said no, that I have to translate the text between the tags (the one that is repeated).
So for me, it's more completed now to translate the text like
... See more
Hi,

I am a newbie in using Trados and would like to have some information about the Batch function.
I was given a Word document to translate that is in "Batch mode" (not sure what it means...).
When I open the document, all Trados tags are there. So I asked the agency if I can use TW to translate the file and the girl said no, that I have to translate the text between the tags (the one that is repeated).
So for me, it's more completed now to translate the text like this because I cannot use the functions of Trados.
Is she right when she says that I cannot use Trados?
Thanks a lot!
Caroline
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:31
English to German
+ ...
Is your customer familiar with Trados? Apr 1, 2005

Hi Caroline,
Looking at this, I wonder whether your customer is familiar with Trados... also, are they aware you're using Trados yourself?

Me neither (and frankly, I don't think your customer knows 100% what that's supposed to mean). The concept of batch functions refers to Analyse, Translate and Cleanup, all of which can be executed for several files at the same time (hence the term 'batch').

When I open the document, all Trados tags are there.