Disclaimer for translation of an audio dialogue
מפרסם התגובה: Ionela Popescu
Ionela Popescu
Ionela Popescu
ארצות הברית
Dec 19, 2012

Hi everyone,
I have just finished a translation for an audio dialogue (1 minute long) which was pretty short. The content of the conversation is to be used as evidence in court and the language used in the dialogue is pretty harsh (threats, insults, etc.)
I think that as a translator, I will be more comfortable to add some sort of disclaimer to the translation. Any ideas about how the disclaimer should sound like? Thank you in advance.

David Wright
David Wright  Identity Verified
אוסטריה
Local time: 02:06
מגרמנית לאנגלית
+ ...
Don't follow Dec 19, 2012

Do you mean you think your translation might be wrong - in which case I'd enter in the text itself the bits I'm unsure about.

If it's just the strong language, I see no point. If it's there, you translate it. I'm sure the courts will have encountered strong language before and is not likely to think you 've put it there yourself.

Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:06
מצרפתית לאנגלית
+ ...
נזכור
Translate it as it is Dec 19, 2012

My advice would be simply to translate the dialogue as it is, strong language included. It's quite likely that the court needs to know the kind of language that was being used. It may well be part of the case.
I had a similar situation yesterday, in a way. Not concerning strong language, but two video interviews in which the interviewees spoke extremely colloquially and incoherently in incomplete sentences full of "ums" and "ers" and what I presume to be the Spanish equivalent of "whatever
... See more
My advice would be simply to translate the dialogue as it is, strong language included. It's quite likely that the court needs to know the kind of language that was being used. It may well be part of the case.