I would really like to get into the field of interpretation, any tips?
Thread poster: spizzle
spizzle
spizzle
Local time: 17:02
Jun 24, 2009

Hi people
I would really like to get into the field of interpretation ad am wondering if anybody has any tips for me. I am currently living in Spain though would have no problems returning to the UK to study. My mother tongue is English and I speak an excellent level of Spanish (studied for my DELE superiro in Barcelona) and a decent level of Portuguese, I worked as a translator for 18 months and had some experience interpreting which I thoroughly enjoyed and would like to pursue it as a c
... See more
Hi people
I would really like to get into the field of interpretation ad am wondering if anybody has any tips for me. I am currently living in Spain though would have no problems returning to the UK to study. My mother tongue is English and I speak an excellent level of Spanish (studied for my DELE superiro in Barcelona) and a decent level of Portuguese, I worked as a translator for 18 months and had some experience interpreting which I thoroughly enjoyed and would like to pursue it as a career. What would be the best way to go about it? A masters? Are there any other conference qualifications that are recognised? How long would I have to study for? Better to have 2 active languages?
Any advice that you guys could give me would be massively appreciated!
Thanks
Mark

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-07-01 16:04 GMT]
Collapse

chica nueva
chica nueva
Local time: 04:02
Chinese to English
DPSI (?) Jun 25, 2009

http://www.proz.com/forum/interpreting/120575-dpsi_how_many_of_you_got_it_without_attending_a_course.html

[ You can search for information using Forum Search ]

chica nueva
chica nueva
Chinese to English
EMCI (European Masters in Conference Interpreting) Jun 29, 2009

Hello again