Proofreading of machine and human translations
Thread poster: elmnas
elmnas
elmnas
Sweden
Oct 22, 2015

Dear Proz members,

I work as a technician at a translation agency.
When our project managers creates projects is it both machine translated files and not machine translated files that we send to translators. We send out a large number of orders per day and sometimes have a problem with translations where the translator has accidentally missed small words (prepositions/articles) or used the wrong grammatical ending on longer words. Is there a way to check for these technically
... See more
Dear Proz members,

I work as a technician at a translation agency.
When our project managers creates projects is it both machine translated files and not machine translated files that we send to translators. We send out a large number of orders per day and sometimes have a problem with translations where the translator has accidentally missed small words (prepositions/articles) or used the wrong grammatical ending on longer words. Is there a way to check for these technically, in other words over and above human proofreading? Can you use a termlist for this function? Any suggestions?

[Edited at 2015-10-22 12:51 GMT]
Collapse

Nicole Coesel
Nicole Coesel  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 10:12
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
There is a solution! Oct 22, 2015

I suggest you start hiring different translators because no professional translator would ever 'accidentally miss small words (prepositions/articles) or use the wrong grammatical ending on longer words'.

Wouldn't Machine Proofreading be fantastic? Then we, as translators, can all go home.

[Edited at 2015-10-22 13:03 GMT]

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member because it was not in line with site rule
Francis Marche
Francis Marche  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
Can't agree more Oct 22, 2015