Signing a translated website
Thread poster: Amormac
Amormac
Amormac
Spain
Apr 1, 2016

I am translating a website into German and English for my dissertation and I would like to sign both of them as translator. I mean I would like that my name would be there because actually I created the source website and I have translated it.

Where do a translator sign a website? Or where would you sign it?

Thank you in advance.

Sara Massons
Sara Massons  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:55
Member (2016)
English to French
+ ...
In the "legal infrmation" page Apr 1, 2016

Hi,

I would place this information in the "legal information" page. In France, this page is mandatory and should specify who is responsible for the website content, where it is hosted and several other details. Otherwise, as a web-designer and translator, I always ask my clients if they agrea to place my logo with a link to my website in the page bottom. Some clients are completely opposed to it and some accept it, it is always worth a try.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:55
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
I personally wouldn't want to do it Apr 2, 2016

Websites are dynamic areas that change throughout their lifetime. Ths more dynamic ones change every day. Is the client going to come back to you for every change? Or are small, seemngly insignificant changes going to be made by someone using a dictionary or Google Translate? In fact, are they going to come to you for the next major update or addition? I guess you did this for free but you intend to become a pro i.e. charging for your time?

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
I agree with Sheila Apr 2, 2016

With print media such as books as magazines, it's always worth trying (though it can be an uphill battle). I've never bothered with websites.

Also, you're translating it into German and English, and your English isn't quite perfect. Are you confident of the quality of your work?